The awards are judged by leading photographers and experts in the field, whose distinction and integrity add greatly to the prestige of the awards. Over the years the international jury for Travel Photographer of the Year has included photographers, editors, picture editors, picture buyers, stock photography and digital imaging experts from Germany, Italy, Kenya, New Zealand, Panama, South Africa, Sri Lanka, UK and USA over the years.

We would like to thank our judges for giving so much of their time, expertise and impartiality to Travel Photographer of the Year, sustaining the quality and credibility of the awards.

The 2019 Judges are:

  • Timothy Allen (BBC Human Planet photographer & former TPOTY winner)
  • Daria Bonera (National Geographic Italy)
  • Keith Berr (Advertising & charity project photographer)
  • Cheryl Brophy Chan (Former Picture Editor – Corbis)
  • Catherine Capon (Conservationist & Environmental Film-maker)
  • Chris Coe (Photographer & TPOTY Founder)
  • Colin Finlay (Stock photography expert & collector)
  • Jeremy Hoare (Photographer & TV cameraman)
  • Debbie Ireland (RPS Curator, author & former Director of Photography at AA Publishing)
  • Lawrence Jackson (former official photographer in President Obama’s White House)
  • Brigitte Lardinois (Head of Art & Photography, LCC & former Magnum curator)
  • Caroline Metcalfe (Former Director of Photography at Conde Naste)
  • Mary Robert (Director of Photography, American University London)
  • Essdras M Suarez (Double Pullizer Prize-winning photographer)
  • Jerry Tavin (Stock photography expert)
  • Manfred Zollner (Editor-in-Chief of Fotomagazin, Germany)