Travel Photographer of the Year

21 years of celebrating images from around the world and the best in travel photography


2024 awards launch soon

Travel Photographer of the Year awards (TPOTY) is run by photographers for photographers. TPOTY is truly global – wherever you live in the world and whether you are amateur or professional, beginner or expert, young or old, Travel Photographer of the Year is for you!

Latest news



From lyrically beautiful images of European agricultural landscapes to heartbreaking aerial shots of elephants searching for food on rubbish…

Will you be TPOTY’s 21st winner?

Will you be TPOTY’s 21st winner?

…and follow on from Matjaz Krivic and a list of amazing photographers. The closing date for the 2023 awards…

New judge on 2023 panel

New judge on 2023 panel

Photographer and SheClicks founder has joined the tPOTY judging panel. We're delighted to welcome her and her expertise to…

Our 2022 Travel Photographer of the Year 2022 was Matjaz Krivic, Slovenia said:

“I am honoured to have my work recognised and acknowledged by the judges of the “Travel Photographer of the Year” competition. This competition is special to me since I have been with it from its beginning (2003) when I was given a Judge’s Favourite Award. Now, 20 years later I received their highest award which makes me very proud and means a lot to me. Travel and photography have been my passions and a big part of my life since I can remember and this award inspires me to continue with my journey.”


“TPOTY is one of the world most prestigious photography competitions, not just because of the quantity and quality of its participants, but also because of the recognised expertise and talent of the judges, the selection criteria for the winners based upon the printed photographs and submission in raw format, and last but not least because of the worldwide media impact. I have been very fortunate to have my work shown in London Bridge Exhibition and in the Xposure International Photography Festival in the UAE. There are not many chances to get photographs being seen by more than 2 million people but TPOTY achieves that.” 

Katy Gomez Catalina, Spain

Eye for the Light

Register for Eye for the Light

It’s FREE! And you could be a prize winner.

Eye for the Light is an online magazine all about the creative side of photography and travel, with engaging features, fascinating podcasts, advice, opinions and interviews with talented photographers, travellers, competition judges and people with an in-depth knowledge of the worlds of photography and travel.

There are over 100 fascinating features and podcasts to enjoy! And special offers for registered readers.


Take the Travel Photographer of the Year awards home with you with one of our books, postcards, prints, posters and more

EAMONN MCCABE – a tribute

October 4th 2022: It is with great sadness that we learnt last night of the sudden and unexpected death of Eamonn McCabe – a great photographer and a TPOTY judge. When I was growing up and learning photography, Eamonn was one of my photographic heroes and went on to become a friend. His contribution to photography, especially sports and news photography, was remarkable and he inspired both me and many other photographers to be better. In latter years he turned his talents to people photography and portraiture, and his contribution to the TPOTY judging, as an award-winning picture editor, was greatly valued. I shall miss deeply our photography chats in the pub and will always regard him with great warmth and fondness.

Chris Coe, co-founder, Travel Photographer of the Year

Image credits on this page: Top – Kazuaki Koseki; inset box 1) F Dilek Yurdakul; inset box 2) Matjaz Krivic; inset box 3) Katy Gomez Catalina 4) Keith Berr; 3) Felicia Simion; shop inset. All rights reserved © Travel Photographer of the Year

Our sponsors and partners

It would not be possible to run Travel Photographer of the Year without the support of our sponsors and partners, and we are hugely grateful for their involvement each year. Click the logo to learn more about each of Travel Photographer of the Year’s sponsor and partners.