2011 Winners

Travel Photographer of the Year (TPOTY) 2011 winners gallery

Travel Photographer of the Year

Winner: Louis Montrose, USA

Young Travel Photographer of the Year

Winner: Arne Hansen, Germany (aged 17)

Young Travel Photographer of the Year (ages 15 to 18) / Young Photographers Alliance Award

Winner: Joel Biddle, UK (aged 17)

Runner-up: Tom Spence, UK (aged 17)

Young Travel Photographer of the Year (ages 14 and under)

Winner: Seamus Crowley, USA (aged 14)

Runner-up: Lisa Gehrig, Switzerland (aged 9)

2011 Winners – Portfolios

Cultures & Traditions

Winner: Sergey Anisimov, Russia

Runner-up: Marcin Mikolajczuk, Poland

Highly commended: Yurian Quintanas Nobel, Spain

Commended: Tessa Bunney, UK


Winner: Malgorzata Pioro, Poland

Runner-up: Timothy Allen, UK

Highly commended: Thomas Endlein, Germany

Commended: Simon Morris, UK

Natural Elements

Winner: Anil Sud, Canada

Runner-up: Peter Karry, UK

Highly commended: Matjaz Krivic, Slovenia

Commended: Philip Lee Harvey, UK

Commended: Johnny Haglund, Norway

Spirit of Adventure

Winner: Franco Banfi, Switzerland

Runner-up: Martin Hartley, UK

Highly commended: Chris McLennan, New Zealand

Commended: Edoardo Agresti, Italy

2011 Winners – Single Images

One shot – Wild Moments

Winner, runner-up, Highly commended and Commended

First shot – Work, Rest, Play

Winner, Runner-up, Highly commended and Commended

2011 Winners – New Talent

Diary of a Destination

Winner: Edgard de Bono, Italy

Runner-up: Jonathan Munshi, USA

Highly commended: Ling Cheong, Malaysia

Commended: Jon McCormack, Australia

Commended: Minna Graber, UK

Our sponsors and partners

It would not be possible to run Travel Photographer of the Year without the support of our sponsors and partners, and we are hugely grateful for their involvement each year. Click the logo to learn more about each of Travel Photographer of the Year’s sponsor and partners.